Know the History of TDP| Will they make History?


NTR is the founder of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 1982. From 1982, in every elections TDP associated with another party and participates in the assembly elections. It affiliated with another party for majority purpose and to form the government or for the political benefits. For the first time in the history TDP contesting the Assembly election without an alliance. Because from the past 32 years the party which is associated TDP getting more profit then TDP if TDP forms the government. That is why TDP contesting in the elections without any associations.

In 1983, TDP (1 year after the formation of the party) first-time contest in the Assembly election at that time TDP combined with Sanjay VicharManch party under the leadership of Menaka Gandhi. NTR gave 5 Assembly seats to that party. TDP formed the government with the high majority on that time.

After the death of Indira Gandhi in 1984, Assembly elections opponent parties defeated in the elections in all over India except TDP and BJP.  On that time TDP associated with BJP in Andhra Pradesh TDP and BJP  formed the Government with a high majority. BJP gain 2 seats in all over India from that 1 seat from combination with TDP at Hanmakonda constituency. TDP gain opponent position in Lok Sabha.

In 1989, Elections same combination is moved on. At that time all opposition parties are combined against Rajiv Gandhi so that is why here also the same combination is moved on. But in AP, TDP and BJP combination failed to form Government Congress won the elections.

In 1994, Assembly elections NTR craze became high and TDP formed the Government by associating with friendly parties but at the time BJP is not combined with the TDP.

In 1995, TDP divided into two parts and Nara Chandrababu Naidu became Chief Minister in the place of NTR. After that in 1996, Lok Sabha elections TDP combined with opposition parties. By-elections held in Lok Sabha in the year 1998 at that time TDP contest in the elections with the association of opposition parties. At that time BJP formed the government for the first time under the leadership of Vajpayee.

In 1999, Assembly elections again TDP mingle with BJP and formed the government, Nara Chandrababu Naidu became 2nd time Chief Minister.

In 2004, the Lok Sabha elections and Assembly elections arrived together at that time TDP and BJP combined together and contest In the elections but they failed to form the government. And BJP left the TDP.

In 2009, elections TDP and TRS associated together and contested in the elections but failed.

In 2014, Andhra Pradesh divided into two states Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. In AP, TDP associated with BJP for the support from central and contest in the elections and formed the government in AP but BJP failed to fulfill the needs of TDP (BJP under the leadership of Modi) so TDP separated from the alliance. In 2018, TDP contested the Assembly elections in Telangana with the association of Congress, CPIbut failed to form the government. For present Assembly elections TDP contesting on its own.

In present 2019, Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, TDP contesting on its own without any alliance. TDP giving the tough competition to the YSRCP party and Janasena party and other political parties. Many senior leaders from different parties were joining into the TDP party like Senior leader Baireddy Rajasekhar Reddy from Congress party and sitting MLA Isaiah from YSRCP and many more leaders. The manifesto released by the TDP government is beneficial to all the caste people. So, in these elections, TDP has high chances to form the Government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here